Weeds

8 Oct

A couple of months ago my mother sent me an email with an excerpt from a book she was reading.

At the time, it wasn’t something that I needed emotionally so I sort skimmed through the email and soon forgot about it.

Ironically about a week later, I got hit with an immense amount of crap (figuratively speaking of course). I began searching frantically for help spiritually because as you might know, I have a hard time admitting (and showing) what I am feeling. I’m way to passive aggressive. Asking for help from anyone is a big deal for me.

Thankfully, I started skimming through my inbox and found the email my mother sent me….

“On the other hand, I have found that when I am in an emotionally vulnerable place, or even if I’m just physically tired, I have to be careful to make sure I am not around people who like to complain or be critical. We must discern and  interacts with people who speak from a place off negativity or unbelief. Normally I will minister to them, but I will not give them access to my life.
 When I’m lacking strength, however I will intentionally avoid them. It may not sound very compassionate, but I am the only one who is responsible for keeping my heart free from doubt and judgment. I alone can recognize when I am vulnerable to the influence of people who agree with these spirits. The powerful effect of peoples personalities and values are given as a warning by Solomon when he says, “Do not associate with a  man given to anger; or go with a hot tempered man, or you will learn his ways and find a snare for yourself: Proverbs 22
 
Not all ungodly counsel comes for the ungodly. While many mean well, they lack the faith perspective that I strive for and tend to work to make me more like them than they do to actually try to help me become stronger in my trust in God. My job is to protect myself from such an influence, especially when I am vulnerable. My heart is a garden. Some people are good at planting weeds, while others plant the kingdom.. My job and your is to know the difference. -Bill Johnson. Strengthen yourself in the Lord.”
 
“Do not associate with a man given to anger; or go with a hot tempered man, or you will learn his ways and find a snare for yourself: Proverbs 22….
I hope that if you are frantically searching for help related to what is mentioned above, that you take it to heart. I read it over and over again, especially when it becomes one of those days….
Leave a Comment

