Should You Splurge?

18 Sep

While I was a beauty advisor at Walgreens (for just a few short months) I came across a problem that most women had about beauty products.

They did not know what was good.

And of course working to sell products, if a customer asked me if the eyeliner is good, I cannot say the words “no”.

I could direct her to a different product but I could never say “This product sucks. It is cheap. The color sucks.”

But behold my fellow readers. Today I have picked out products that I have used…all of which you can get at your local Walgreens.

1. Bio-Oil

The text says “Bio-Oil contains the breakthrough ingredient purcellin oil”.

This oil can be used to moisturize scars, stretch marks, uneven skin tones, aging skin, and dehydrated skin. You apply it twice daily (it says for 3 months).

The look of it looks fine, along with the feel of the actual oil. When you rub it on you can feel most of it soak into your skin while the rest just makes your skin look lightly oiled.

It smells fine…like sweet smelling tanning lotion (but a light scent).

Does it work? Some say it does, some say it doesn’t. Most agree that it slightly diminishes scars and stretch marks. As for aging skin and skin tones…I really haven’t used it much.

Should you splurge? No. There are way better ways to spend your money for 2 oz. worth of oil.

 

2. Freeman’s Cucumber Peel-Off Mask

Small text says “Clarifies & renews skin”.

This facial mask peels away the dirt, grime, and cleans out your pores. The cucumber leaves your face smooth as a baby’s bottom. You apply to face and leave on for about 5 min. (with your face in front of fan). Peel off and rinse face with water. Use twice a week.

The feel is interesting, as it feels like you have put glue on your face. While wet, it is hard to get off your fingers.

The smell is pretty good, like cucumbers. And it did not burn my face (for the sensitive skin people).

Should you splurge? Yes! Although it feels like glue, it makes my face super clean and soft. Plus it isn’t that expensive (about $5 for 6 oz).

 

3. Covergirl’s Lashblast Fusion

“Lashblast fusion, water resistant”

I haven’t gone through many mascara’s in my lifetime, but the few I have tried…it seems that I prefer Covergirl over all the other mascara’s. Particularly the one in the purple container.

The make-up is supposed to give your lashes volume and length. I have noticed it has given me more length than volume…but nonetheless, it still works like a charm.

It smells like any other mascara (I guess?) and because it’s purple (one of my favorite colors) I give it extra points.

The price usually ranges from $6-10…(Walgreens has buy one get one half off on all covergirl products, at least once a month).

So should you splurge? I definitely think you should on this one.

 

4. Zapzyt

“Maximum strength 10% Benzoyl Peroxide Gel”

I haven’t ever really tried any other acne treatment gel. I only ever get a few blemishes here and there so this satisfies what I need.

After washing your face (before putting on your make-up) dab some on the site of the pimples, and let it dry. “For best results, use up to three times daily”.

Now it is dermatologist recommended, if that is important to you. I do have to say, I ended up putting it on my nose to try to get rid of some blackheads…and I really dried out my nose (and left the blackheads). My nose was shedding for about a week.

If you don’t put it on your nose…you will be fine.

There is hardly a smell and the gel is a white and creamy substance.

Should you splurge? Its up to you. Every face is different and it might not work on you like it does me. And the price range is about $4.

5. Almay eyeliner crayon

“01 Black”

I have to say…I absolutely hated this eyeliner. It takes forever to put on and you are forced to stand in front of the mirror and press down hard, just to get a little on.

Getting it off is even worse. Using the Almay make-up remover, a washcloth, warm water, standing in the shower, using olive oil. It eventually came off…but my eyes were red and sore from scrubbing.

I do not recommend it.  Ever. Never. Ever.

 

 

 

 

6. Aveeno Eczema Therapy Moisturizing Cream

“Relieves dry, itchy, irritated, skin due to eczema. Steroid-free, fragrance free.”

I have always had eczema on my hands. Every few months it appears. I thought I tried everything until I found this.

It has colloidal oatmeal in it, which we all know, oatmeal soothes the skin.

I use it everyday on my eczema but when it flares up (the worse day)…the lotion does not do much. It’s like putting a teaspoon of water on a flaming fire.

Granted, I still use it and love it. But I would try something else before I bought it again.

Should you splurge? You decide. If you have eczema, you have a personal preference to what you like and don’t like. And your body might like this lotion, unlike mine. It ranges from about $7-12.

 

 

Now I have more reviews of products but I don’t want to overwhelm everybody. If I had to pick one thing out of this list, if I could only buy one…it would have to be the Covergirl Lashblast Fusion Mascara.

So do you have and reviews of products? Or do you have something to add about the above? Let us know!

Leave a Comment

