Passionate Despair

25 Aug

For those of you who know me personally (or anyone that has read my previous posts), know that I have a hard time sticking to one particular thing for an extended period of time.

Even when I have signed some formal, binding contract, I still break it. For example…

Piano: I have done that on and off for years now. If I stuck to it, I would have been a professional by now.                                                      Flute, Trombone, Violin: I tried all of those instruments and hated all of them (after taking the class).                                                         Baking: On and off, like piano. But with a tight budget and not many ingredients…..                                                                                               Knitting: I begged my mom to buy me the needle and yarn. I am still working on it and I have 1/4 done…that was 2 years ago.          Eating Healthy: I do great until someone starts eating a sweet treat in front of me.

Even blogging I have a hard time committing to. I’m surprised I am still even doing it!

I mean don’t get me wrong, I have passion. I am so fiercely passionate about so many things. It’s just that I know there are so many great things to do out in the world. I know I have no time to try all of them, but I still try to do as much as I can.

My grandma thinks this makes me an unstable person…that I will become my parents (who cannot commit to living in one place for more than two years). But what is wrong with traveling and seeing the world? I would rather be a nomad that has a hard time with commitment versus the hermit who collects key chains.

Don’t get me wrong, there probably is a happy middle that will solve my problem (and there is nothing wrong with one who prefers to stay inside and collect things)….uh. One less thing off my chest.

 

Leave a Comment

