Getting Rid of the ‘Bucket List’

21 Aug

I’m 98.7% positive that everyone has a bucket list.

Some people have written it down on a loose-leaf, lined piece of paper. Others perhaps typed it out.

And then there are those who just have ideas etched in their head.

I started writing my own bucket list a while back (your never to early to start). And while I was writing this…it was making me feel depressed. Am I really that much of a stick in the mud that I have to write down everything I want to do before I die?

One thing that I did not want to be was someone who always went by the book. Someone with lists for everything. I didn’t want to travel the world with an hour-by-hour schedule. How awful would it be to go somewhere amazing and only allow yourself a few minutes to take it all in?

This is why there are so many backpackers. They pack up their needed items and go wherever they can. If they like the place they are at, they can stay longer. The freedom that they have, I can not imagine that feeling. They see the world and experience all there is to do. They don’t worry about checking their facebook or stalking their favorite celebrity on the internet. To me, backpackers are living life to the fullest.

So as soon as I get the change, I so want to start backpacking. There is this thing for teachers (what I am going to college for) where this organization sends you around the world to teach children. And of of those expenses are paid for. The only thing you need to do is bring an open mind and be ready to take in new cultures.

The first place I would love to go, is India.

Taj Mahal

How about you? Where would you go?

Leave a Comment

