Amy’s Soup

2 May

During four years I was a vegetarian, I lived off of soup for quite a while. It was easy to make, easy to warm-up, and if I wanted to buy a can of it…every grocery store supplied it.

About a year ago I found a brand of soup that I fell in love with. I found it at our local health co-op, Outpost. The brand was (is) “Amy’s”.

Yum. Now I have never tried all of the flavors, but I’m guessing they all taste great. My favorite, the one that I get all the time is….Lentil.

Tons of protein and it takes me forever to finish off one can because it is so filling. Now, these cans are a bit more expensive than the Campbell’s stuff. One can, with two servings, cost about $5 depending on where you buy it. But it is the best $5 you will ever spend.

Now, I’m not here to promote and specific brand. I want to give you the recipe.

That’s right. I have the almost exact recipe for Amy’s Lentil. Now it costs more than $5 to make but you get more than 2 servings…so I guess it evens out in the end.

Ingredients:

  • 1 glug (splash) olive oil
  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 1 medium carrot, grated
  • 2 sprigs fresh rosemary, leaves minced
  • 1 14.5 can fire-roasted tomatoes, crushed or diced (your preference)
  • 4-8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 cups filtered water
  • 1 cup dried red lentils, picked over and rinsed
  • 1 pound potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 6 leaves lacinato kale, chopped into small, bite-sized pieces
  • 1 teaspoon rubbed sage
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika

Directions:

-Warm oil in large, heavy bottomed pot over medium heat.  Add onion and sauté until translucent.

-Add carrot, rosemary, and garlic and stir until just heated through and fragrant.  Add remaining ingredients and stir until well incorporated.  -Bring to a low boil, then turn the heat down until your soup is just barely simmering with an occasional stiring for good measure; keep the lid on, but slightly ajar.  Stir every so often to make sure nothing is sticking.  Soup will be ready when lentils and potatoes are tender.

Now, the soup will look more like mud compared to this picture. But I promise it tastes awesome.

Tomorrow’s post will be about how to make bread, so if you want…make both and serve together!

Have a great day.

 

Leave a Comment

