Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies

28 Mar

One of my gifts I got on Christmas was a recipe book.

A three-in-one, Cookies-Cakes-Cupcakes Recipe Book. And every single recipe, you have to use cake mix.

Yes, cake mix to make cookies. Who would have known?

Well, to test how well the recipes were, I made (or experimented) “Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies”. They turned out great, fantastic even…only after one little “Sam Freaks Out In The Kitchen” Episode.

So before I explain my little freak out, I’ll give you the ingredients and general directions.

1/2 cup pecans

8 oz. soften cream cheese

1 stick soften butter

1 egg

1 package (18 oz) Devil’s Food Cake Mix

1 jar Nutella (or chocolate hazelnut spread)

1/4 cup powdered sugar

Directions:

  • Preheat oven 350°F.
  • Place pecans in small resealable bag. Using meat mallet or rolling pin, finely crush pecans. Place pecans in small skillet over medium high heat; toast pecans 1-1/2 minutes or until browned, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and set aside.
  • Beat cream cheese and butter in medium bowl 30 seconds on low speed of electric mixer or until smooth. Add egg; beat on medium speed until well blended. Add cake mix; beat at low speed 2 minutes until mixture is smooth and resembles thick cookie dough. Stir in pecans.
  • Shape dough into 1-inch balls; spray palms lightly with cooking spray, if necessary, to make handling easier. Place balls 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets.
  • Bake 8 minutes. (Cookies will appear undercooked.) Cool on cookie sheets 5 minutes. Remove cookies to wire racks; cool completely.
  • Spoon 1 teaspoon chocolate hazelnut spread on top of each cookie; sprinkle with powdered sugar.

Now to explain my “episode”.

I was doing great, making these cookies. It was simple and I thought I would be done in no time. Unfortunatly, I spoke too soon.

First, I learned that you do not mix the cake mix as directed on the box. You jst dump the dry stuff in the cream cheese/butter mixture. I also learned that this dough is very oily, which makes it really hard to roll into little balls.

After the 8 minutes was up, my cookies were in the shape of a tennis ball (they needed to be flat). And they were far from done, so far from done that if I ate it I could get sick. So that’s when I started to freak out a little. My “simple” cookies had just turned into “Ohmygosh” and “WhatamIgoingtodo?”

Thankfully, with the help from my grandma…I took a spatula and pressed down the cookies to make them flat. Then cooked them for 4 extra minutes. And after those very long, heart racing minutes the cookies looked very undercooked. But the directions said they would be. So I cooled them down and I put them on the cooling rack. And after letting them cool some more…they were so gooey. Too gooey. Like as in “If I eat this, I’m gonna get food poisoning”. But I let them sit about 30 mintutes and they hardened a little. I frosted and sprinkled. I ate. They were good.

They had the same texture as brownies and they tasted even better. They turned out great.

Have you ever had a small “freak-out” in the kitchen..if so, share your story in the comment section. :)

Leave a Comment

