Strawberry Spinach Salad

15 Mar

This morning I was woken up by nature’s alarm clock…a bird.

Last night I kept my window open thinking that I could get some fresh air while I slept. It was a fantastic idea until 5 am this morning. When a little bird decided to perch on my windowsill and “tweet”.

Now, some birds are very nice to listen to. They sing songs and do some kind of fluttering chirp. The bird that was at my window, it really needs some singing lessons.

Let me try to explain how it sounded. Like an alarm clock that doesn’t have a snooze button. And fortunatly, the sound he made was not a “Beep”. It was not a “Chirp” or a “Tweet”. It was something along the lines of “Twaaacktchrip. Teet.”

I was pretty annoyed at first, I mean who wants to wake up at 5 am? But then I got to thinking…”It is spring.” Even though that bird needed to be taken out, he was enjoying and celebrating the change of season. I mean, today is a fantastic day outside. If I was even remotly similar to Snow White, I would probably start singing too.

Because it really does feel like spring today (at least where I live), how about a recipe for a crisp salad?

Strawberry Spinach Salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds
  •  1 tablespoon poppy seeds
  •  1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup distilled white vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon minced onion
  • 10 ounces fresh spinach – rinsed, dried and torn into bite-size pieces
  • 1 quart strawberries – cleaned, hulled and sliced
  • 1/4 cup almonds, blanched and slivered

Directions:

-In a medium bowl, whisk together the sesame seeds, poppy seeds, sugar, olive oil, vinegar, paprika, Worcestershire sauce and onion. Cover, and chill for one hour.

-In a large bowl, combine the spinach, strawberries and almonds. Pour dressing over salad, and toss. Refrigerate 10 to 15 minutes before serving.

*Add avacado for an extra health burst. Instead of sugar you can use 1/4 cup of honey. You can use purple onions or white…and you can even add blueberries and other fruit if you dare.

(This makes 4 servings of salad)

So there you have it. If you didn’t know what to make for lunch today…you certainly do now.

Leave a Comment

