Shadow of Death

5 Jan

I know.

It has been like two weeks since I posted last.

But I had a good excuse.

Christmas Eve, New Years Eve, New Years Day, babysitting. I had a long nice break.

I made sweets. I wrapped presents. I opened presents. I made a new years resolution and stayed up until midnight.

I have been busy…well not super busy (you can tell by my pile of laundry and my unorganized bedroom).

Overall, I had a good holiday break.

Now a great way to start my first post of 2012…

Over the break I heard of this eightteen year old named Ben Breedlove. He was diagnosed with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (His heart couldn’t pump blood the right way). His doctors believed that he wouldn’t make it past his teen years. On December 18, 2011 he made and posted two videos on youtube (part 1 and part 2). He had a grand story to tell…

On  December 24, 2011 (Christmas Eve), Ben Breedlove went into cardiac arrest and paramedics were unable to resesitate him. His funeral was on the 29th and more than 1,400 attended. His funeral was also streaming live…and over 11,000 watched online.

Most people afraid of death are only afraid because they don’t know where they are going to go afterward. Those are the most common questions nowadays. Is there a heaven and hell? Where do we go? Will it hurt?

Ben Breedlove answered those questions for over 5 million people. There is a heaven (or at least a really cool white room with your favorite singers) and it doesn’t hurt. Ben was at peace with dying. He wasn’t afraid. He knew that while his heart stopped and he was in that big white room, no harm would come to him.

“The Lord works in mysterious ways.” is the only way to describe this. Ben shared his testimony and challenged the perceptions of life after death. He has impacted countless lives by delievering a message of hope and grace.

I found a passage in the bible that backs up Ben’s not being afraid…                                                                                                                                                                                      Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me Psalms 23:4

I also found a passage that explains why he cheate death three times…                                                                                                                                                                                    But if I live, I can do more fruitful work for Christ. So I really don’t know which is better. I’m torn between two desires: I long to go and be with Christ, which would be far better for me. Philippians 1:22-23

Now to answer Ben Breedlove’s question (Do you believe in angels or God?).

Yes. I do…with my whole heart, mind, and soul.

Leave a Comment

