Pumpkin Pie Cookies

19 Dec

Ever have an ingredient in your cabinet and you don’t know what to make with it?

It seems like everything in your fridge won’t go good with a certain item and it ends up sitting there for a while until you have the right ingredients?

I go through the same thing…

A couple of weeks ago my mom bought gluten-free flour.

She bought a gluten-free baking flour, rice flour, and millet flour.

I only knew how to make muffins with rice flour and flatbread with millet flour. I figured it was time to get the big guns out and start to experiment. I found this great recipe that used millet flour.

Thanks to the back of Bob’s Red Mill packaging that contains at least one recipe, let me introduce….

Super Easy Yummy Tasting Pumpkin Cookies (I thought of the name myself)

2 cups millet flour
1/2 cup organic Amaranth flour (I don’t have this so I used 1/4 cup rice flour and 1/4 cup Baking Flour)
3 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 cup olive oil
1 cup honey
2 large eggs, beaten
1 tablespoon molasses
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree, canned

-Preheat oven to 400-425ºF. Set aside ungreased cookie sheet.

-In large mixing bowl combine all the dry ingredients, blend well.

-In another large bowl combine all the wet ingredients, blend well. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, mix well. This makes a thick batter which can be poured.

-Spoon cookie batter onto greased cookie sheet and bake approximately 12-14 minutes. Makes 3-dozen cookies.

*Now I messed up because my batter was not pourable. It was thick and moist but not liquidy. It did not affect the cookie, it just made it easier to put on the pan.

** I also thought that it needed a sweet topping so I made an icing out of powdered sugar.

***I know it is winter and I should be telling you recipes that relate to the season, but these cookies were so good that I thought everyone deserved to try them now.

 

One Response to “Pumpkin Pie Cookies”

  1. Teddy Mcvean 12/20/2011 at 2:57 pm #

    Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was simply doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So ok , i’ll rephrase that: Many thanks lunch!

Leave a Comment

