Puppy Chow Down

13 Dec

Do you have a favorite food that brings back memories?

For example, every time I eat meatloaf I think of my mother’s hard-as-a-rock, uncooked rice, meatloaf. I can recall where she made it, who tried to cut it, and what the weather was like outside.

Or whenever I have a can of whipped cream, I think of the food fight me, my mom, and my brother had…

I can’t explain how the brain functions.

So I think it’s pretty cool that a particular food brings back memories.

Now, I’m not going to give you the recipe for my mother’s granite meatloaf. I seriously doubt that someone would enjoy going to the dentist with the taste of coal in their mouth…I’m just kidding, I have no idea what it tasted like.

However, I am going to give you a recipe for yummy tasting, easy to eat deliciousness.

The first time I had it, I was in sixth grade math. I hated my teacher and I was failing the class. But every friday he would make this treat and give us some in those tiny paper cups (with the kiddy characters on them). He would sell them for .25 cents to anyone who wasn’t in his class.

That is the only fond memory of my math teacher.

What is this treat that he let his students indulge in once a week?

Puppy Chow.

or some like to call it, Monkey Munch.

To make it you are going to need

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup creamy sun butter (or peanut butter)
  • 2 cups milk chocolate chips
  • 1 (17.5 ounce) package crispy corn ot rice cereal
  • 1 pound confectioners’ sugar

-Melt the peanut butter with the butter or margarine and the milk chocolate. Pour over the cereal and toss until well coated.

-Place the coated cereal in a large paper sack then add the confectioners’ sugar, fold down the top of the bag and shake to coat.

It tastes better than it looks.

*I want to let you know that the first time I made this, everything stuck to the bag and was so clumpy. To avoid that, put some sugar in the bag first, then add the cereal, then more sugar.

**If still attached to bag, rip open bag and enjoy.

******I have a great idea….adding nutella to the recipe.

Anyway…

Easy ingredients, easy to make, and easy to eat…not easy to burn the calories though. It makes like 12 servings and each serving is about 600 calories. Wow.

But the taste might be worth it.

So…do you have any foods that bring back memories?

2 Responses to “Puppy Chow Down”

  1. Allison 02/05/2012 at 11:21 am #

    Ahaa, its good conversation on the topic of this piece of writing at this place at this blog, I have read all that, so now me also commenting at this place.

  2. ringfingertanline 12/13/2011 at 10:55 am #

    I <3 Puppy Chow. Such a childhood thing. Also, haystacks. Yummy.

Leave a Comment

