A Rubber Brownies Story

6 Dec

Do you have any cooking disaster stories?

I do.

In fact, I have tons. But I’m only willing to tell you one. One that isn’t as bad as the others…

On Sunday, I decided to do use some gluten free recipes that I found.

With all the ingredients I got started on a few recipes…

Bajra Roti Millet Flatbread

Brownies

Hummus

The flatbread was easy to make and turned out great. It satisfied that craving of “I really want to have a sandwich with real bread”.

The hummus was amazing (I’ll be giving you the recipe soon). It went great with the flatbread and was cheaper to make than to buy. Yum.

The brownies on the other hand were not so good.

You see, I found the recipe and it called for eggs, chocolate, butter, sugar, and corn starch. The pictures looks really good so I decided to make it.

Instead of sugar I used stevia (a plant based sweetener). I also used bittersweet chocolate. I figured I could add the stevia and everything would be fine.

Boy was I wrong.

I had to add tons of stevia to make it not taste bad. When the batter was to my liking, I put them in cupcake cups to bake. Wow. They were dense. I had to double the paper cups.

Anyway, they baked. While they baked, the butter rose to the top and started to bubble.

When I took them out of the oven, I let them cool. When I finally had the guts to try one…the cooked batter became more dense than before. I broke it in half and it looked like rubbery tar. I don’t judge food by the way it looks anymore so I took a bite.

Ewwww

It was tough and very bitter. Like I didn’t put any stevia in it at all.

So was it my fault? Did I do something wrong?

or was it the recipe? or maybe corn starch and stevia don’t work good together? Stevia and chocolate don’t bake well?

Who knows?

I still have the failed brownies. They are waiting for ice cream to be mushed together. Then I will eat it.

The batter did taste pretty good though.

My mom also did trial and error cooking that night. She made chocolate almond protein bars. The recipe called for stevia and a few scoops of whey protein. She used banana instead of plain or vanilla.

Yuck.

It was like eating condensed banana whey protein.

Although we did have trial and error that night, the hummus I made was delightful. To make it you’re going to need…

2 cups chilled, canned chickpeas

1/2 cup tahini paste (seseme)

4-5 T oil

3-4 cloves garlic

salt&pepper to taste

cumin, paprika, cayenne, curry to serve.

Directions:

Puree chickpeas. Add paste, oil, salt and pepper, garlic. Puree until creamy.

whisk 2 T warm oil, cumin, papricka, cayenne, and curry. Put hummus in dish and drizzle oil mix on top.

Serve with pita chips, veggie, or Bajra Roti Millet Flatbread.

2 Responses to “A Rubber Brownies Story”

  1. Jared Matteucci 12/24/2011 at 11:43 pm #

    Just a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw great design and style .

  2. Vicente Couch 12/20/2011 at 2:42 pm #

    I got what you intend, thankyou for putting up.

Leave a Comment

