Chocolatey Rice Crispy Treats

2 Dec

I woke up this morning and realized that today is my little brother’s birthday.

He is now 10 years old.

Or 11.

9?

Geez. I can’t even remember how old my brother is. I blame my mom for having 5 kids.

Anyway…

For his birthday I’m making Sweet and Salty Rice Crispy Treats. Yum.

Craving chocolate anyone?

 

They are chocolatey, sweet, crunchy, salty, and gluten-free.

 

Now don’t be afraid of using this recipe because I said it’s gluten-free. Rice Crispy Treats are gluten-free. I am just adding a kick to the delicious treats. :)

 

 

 

 

To make these, you’re going to need some ingredients.

2 T butter

1 bag marshmallows (7 oz bag)

1/2 cup almond butter

5 cups rice cereal

1/4 cup sunbutter (The recipe originally called for peanut butter, but I’m allergic)

1 t vanilla

1/2 t salt

1/2 package semi sweet chocolate chips (yes, this recipe has chocolate chips)

Directions:

-In a saucepan, melt butter.

-Add almond butter, vanilla, and salt. Stir until melted and creamy.

-Add marshmallows and stir until melted. Take off heat and add the cereal. Stir.

-Press into greased or lined pan and let cool.

-Cover top of cooled treats with sunbutter. Drizzle melted chocolate on top.

Enjoy :)

Now you can do this in many different ways. You can skip the sunbutter and just cover the treats with chocolate. Or you can add the chips to the cereal and mix them both in.

Anyway you do it, they will taste great!

How Healthy They Are (from My Fitness Pal)

208 calories per square (if your cutting them into 20 bars)

7.8 g fat

31 g carbs

21 g sugar

3.2 g protein

I don’t think they are really healthy. My advice, eat only one or two.

yummy yummy...in my tummy

3 Responses to “Chocolatey Rice Crispy Treats”

  1. Jordan Mcquaide 12/24/2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Hello i have question. please where is contact to admin?

  2. site 12/24/2011 at 4:36 pm #

    I believe this website contains some very great information for everyone : D.

  3. Michal Rulon 12/17/2011 at 9:27 am #

    This web site can be a stroll-through for the entire information you wished about this and didn?t know who to ask. Glimpse right here, and also you?ll definitely discover it.

Leave a Comment

